Sunday, 27 May 2012

Son House - Field Recordings 1941 & 1942

The field recordings of Son House made by Alan Lomax in 1941 and 42. In 1941 Lomax went in search of Robert Johnson, only to discover that Johnson had been murdered three years before. So Lomax recorded three tracks by Muddy Waters (McKinley Morganfield). Both he and Robert Johnson has both been taught by Son House, and Lomax also recorded six tracks by their mentor. Lomax returned the following year and recorded a further eight tracks by Muddy Waters and five by Son House. The sound in these recordings has been restored by Jean du Touche-Grande. Released on Zircon Bleu in 1999. Video currently blocked in Germany.


1. Levee Camp Blues (0:07)
2. Shetland Pony Blues (3:53)
3. Delta Blues (7:21)
4. Special Rider Blues (Take 2) (12:42)
5. Low Down Dirty Dog (15:50)
6. Depot Blues (20:42)
7. American Defense (23:44)
8. Walking Blues (26:40)
9. Country Farm Blues (29:40)
10. The Pony Blues (31:52)
11. The Jinx Blues (Take 2) (36:07)

No comments:

Post a comment