Sunday, 27 May 2012

Muddy Waters - Field Recordings 1941 & 1942

The field recordings of Muddy Waters made by Alan Lomax in 1941 and 42. In 1941 Lomax went in search of Robert Johnson, only to discover that Johnson had been murdered three years before. So Lomax recorded three tracks by Muddy Waters (McKinley Morganfield). Both he and Robert Johnson has both been taught by Son House, and Lomax also recorded six tracks by their mentor. Lomax returned the following year and recorded a further eight tracks by Muddy Waters and five by Son House. The sound on these recordings has been restored by Jean du Touche-Grande. Released on Zircon Bleu in 1999.


1. Country Blues (0:07)
2. I Be's Troubled (3:33)
3. Ramblin' Kid (6:39)
4. Rosalie (9:55)
5. Take A Walk With Me (13:00)
6. Burr Clover Blues (16:07)
7. I Be Round To Write To You Soon (19:20)
8. You're Gonna Miss Me When I'm Gone (22:48)
9. You Got To Take Sick And Die (26:12)
10. Why Don't You Live So God Can Use You (28:22)
11. Country Blues (No.2) (30:32)

Video now blocked worldwide.

No comments:

Post a comment